KlawBerry - Good Girl. Bad World.

Moderators: AgentHelix, Tracy Fran, TheRonin, CameronStewart

KlawBerry - Good Girl. Bad World.

Postby SteamCrow » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:14 pm

Hi there!

My name is Daniel M. Davis, and I'm new here. I'm an indy illustrator and publisher, and I've just finished the art for my second book, KlawBerry.

I'd like to share a few images with you to check out. (These are full spreads)

Born of the Sea

Dark Forest

Hungry Girl

Called on the Wind

Distractions

Following the Signs

I'm an ego maniac, so here's an icon I use for myself. (A little larger)

My book should come back from the printer by February, if all goes well. I'll be pushing them, as well as my first book "Caught Creatures" at a few Comic Conventions this year.

Thanks for looking,

- Daniel
SteamCrow

Postby SteamCrow » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:17 pm

Oh yeah, it's all vector artwork (Freehand MX) pulled into Photoshop, and overlayed with a texture. Pretty simple, but I like the effect.

Sorry the images are so small, but I'd rather not make you folks mad at me my first time around.

:)
SteamCrow

Postby BlueHarp411 » Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:23 pm

Welcome aboard Daniel and these are spectacular!!

Jill
BlueHarp411

Postby Patrick77 » Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:08 pm

Daniel,

Really excellent stuff. I like the combination of vector art and the rough textures, its a nice change from the overly slick vector stuff you usually see.

My only critique is that in some of these the Klawberry character seems to have been added kind of as an afterthought. Probably just because I am seeing all the images one after the other it's easy to see the little changes you made to the stock character. Switched the claw position. Used the happy mouth instead of the sad mouth. The "Hungry Girl" one is nice because she seems to be interested in what's going on in the rest of the illustration, and it's obvious you had to actually redraw a good chunk of her for the 3/4 view.